Holbrook NEWMAC Diver of the Year, Bartolotta, Bracht Get Hoops Honors

For the second time in her three years at MIT, Doria M. Holbrook '08 was named the best diver in her conference.

The New England Women's and Men's Conference (NEWMAC) "Diver of the Year" award adds to Holbrook's already impressive pile of trophies that include an NCAA national championship in 2005, an NCAA national runner-up in 2006, and the 2005 NEWMAC Diver of the Year award.

Holbrook will compete at the 2007 NCAA Division III championship meet next weekend in Houston, Texas.

Basketball grabs postseason awards

Erich W. Bracht '10 received the NEWMAC award for Rookie of the Year after an outstanding first season full of double-doubles and games played without rest.

Bracht averaged 13 points and nine rebounds in 36 minutes a game, got 10 double-doubles in the team's 27 games, and set an MIT record with a 62.7 percent field goal percentage.

James M. Bartolotta '09, last season's Rookie of the Year, was named to the All-Conference First-Team and placed second in Player of the Year voting.

Bartolotta racked up big numbers in all statistical categories, leading the Engineers in points (21.2), assists (4.3), steals (1.9), blocks (1.0), and minutes played (36.7). He also led the conference in scoring, free throw shooting percentage (86.6 percent), and led the nation in free throws made.