Amanda Morris Named NEWMAC Volleyball Athlete of the YearJames Oleinik Named Offensive Lineman of the YearMen’s Ice Hockey Blanks Daniel Webster, 4-0Ludlum and Theurer Named All-Conference in Women’s Soccer

Amanda Morris Named NEWMAC Volleyball Athlete of the Year

Tri-captain setter Amanda J. Morris ’08 became the first player in the program’s history to be selected as Women’s Volleyball Athlete of the Year for the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference. She is also the second person to earn conference Athlete of the Year accolades, with the inaugural recipient being Kamilah Alexander ’96, a three-time NEW 8 honoree.

Morris bolstered her awards total with her second consecutive All-Conference First-Team honor. The Engineers saw first-time award winners in Katherine C. Rowe ’10 and Carrie C. Buchanan ’08. Rowe, a middle hitter, was a FirstTeam pick, while tri-captain libero Buchanan was chosen for the Second Team.

—Mindy Brauer, DAPER Staff

James Oleinik Named Offensive Lineman of the Year

The New England Football Conference recently announced its 2007 All-Division Teams and MIT was rewarded with five player accolades. Guard James R. Oleinik ’09 paced the Engineers’ contingent by earning Boyd Division First Team honors as well as plaudits for Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Oleinik served as the cornerstone for MIT’s offensive front, which finished sixth in the 16-team conference in rushing yards per game and fifth in sacks against. On Oct. 20, Oleinik fueled a dominating effort by the MIT line as the Engineers controlled the time of possession for nearly 42 minutes and rushed for an Institute-record 477 yards.

Defensive lineman David D. Nackoul ’09 and defensive back David O. Kalk ’08 also earned spots on the Boyd Division First Team. Kalk, who has been among the league leaders in tackles every season donning the Cardinal and Gray, led the Engineers this year with three interceptions and two blocked kicks. Nackoul has been praised for his technical skill along the defensive front, while his outstanding play also resulted in a First Team selection on the Academic All-District squad. That honor moves Nackoul to the national ballot and could lead to a spot on the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Team.

MIT secured additional honors as linebacker Samuel A. Jasinski ’08 and running back DeRon M. Brown ’10 were named to the Boyd Division Second Team. Jasinski was the third-leading tackler on the team and filled the stat sheet in a number of categories throughout the season. Brown led the Engineers in rushing with 664 yards and finished the campaign with 951 all-purpose yards. Brown topped 100 yards rushing in a game twice, including a career-high 144 yards in MIT’s win over Salve Regina.

In addition to Nackoul’s first-team honor, Oleinik and Thomas J. Franklin ’09 were selected to the Academic All-District Second Team. Qualifiers are selected to the teams by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

—James Kramer, DAPER Staff

Men’s Ice Hockey Blanks Daniel Webster, 4-0

Forward Michael C. Kozlowski ’08 scored his first two goals of the season and goaltender Thomas A. Hopkins G stopped 22 shots to help MIT shutout Daniel Webster College, 4-0, in the men’s ice hockey home opener last Wednesday night in Johnson Ice Rink. Ryan W. Ballentine ’09 and Nicholas R. LaBounty ’09 also scored to help Tech secure the win.

With the victory, MIT remained perfect at 2-0-0 on the young season, while the visiting Eagles — who are the defending NorthEast Collegiate Hockey Association Conference B Champions — fell to 1-7-1.

Kozlowski netted what would prove to be the game-winner just 2:30 into the contest when he converted a feed from Justin D. Myers ’11, who picked up the first point of his intercollegiate career with the assist. Dustin P. Kendrick ’10 was credited with the secondary assist.

The score was still tight early in the second period, but a pair of goals just over a minute apart stretched the Engineers’ lead to 3-0. LaBounty and Ian M. Rousseau ’10 provided the helpers for Ballentine’s goal at 16:25, while Kozlowski bagged his second on a power-play just over a minute later, courtesy of assists from Vladimir Sobes ’11 and Hopkins. Like his teammate Myers earlier in the game, Sobes notched his first career intercollegiate point with the assist.

LaBounty finished the scoring at 17:15 of the third period, with Ballentine and Rousseau earning the assists.

Andy Smith made 47 saves in a valiant effort between the pipes for the Eagles.

MIT will return to action on Wednesday, Nov. 14, when it will host Endicott College in an NECHA Conference A East Division showdown at 7 p.m.

—Mindy Brauer, DAPER Staff

Ludlum and Theurer Named All-Conference in Women’s Soccer

The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference announced its 2007 women’s soccer post-season awards last Tuesday and MIT’s dynamic forward tandem of Amy S. Ludlum ’08 and Jean E. “Liz” Theurer ’10 both received all-conference plaudits. Ludlum, who secured her third consecutive league honor, led the way after being tabbed as a First Team selection.

Ludlum, who enjoyed accolades as the 2006 NEWMAC Player of the Year, led the league for the second straight season in goals and points. At the conclusion of the regular season, Ludlum was ranked second in the National Collegiate Athletic Association in points per game.

Theurer earned Second Team All-Conference honors after serving up top with Ludlum. The duo comprised the most formidable tandem in the league, with Theurer finishing the season with 11 goals and 31 points.

—James Kramer, DAPER Staff