Men’s lacrosse earns awards

First rookie of the year win since 1999, third win overall

The MIT men’s lacrosse team received four post-season awards as announced by the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) on Tuesday. Harris A. Stolzenberg ’17 was tabbed for Rookie of the Year accolades and earned a spot on the All-Conference second team as head coach Walter Alessi was voted the league’s Coach of the Year. In addition, the Engineers saw Joel T. Santisteban ’14 and Paul R. Orrson ’16 receive first-team plaudits.

The program’s first conference Rookie of the Year since 1999 and third overall, Stolzenberg led the NEWMAC in man-up goals (12), was second in points (64) and goals (39), and third in assists (25). A Pilgrim League Second-Team All-Conference pick last year, Orrson powered the midfield with 21 goals and 14 assists for 35 points. His assists total was eighth in the league while placing 10th in points and 14th in goals. Santisteban, also a Pilgrim League All-Conference Second Team selection last season, was eighth in the NEWMAC in caused turnovers with 17 while collecting 36 groundballs as a close defenseman. His caused turnover total was the second-best in program history, and he will graduate tied for fourth in career caused turnovers with 36.

Alessi, who concluded his 40th season at the helm, was named Coach of the Year for the ninth time in his career. He guided MIT to an overall record of 9-8 and a 4-2 mark in the NEWMAC. The Engineers earned the No. 3 seed for the postseason conference tournament, their highest placement in six consecutive appearances, before bowing to runner-up Babson College in the semifinals.