Turnout at MIT precinct increases in Cambridge elections

MIT’s precinct 2-2 had a 252.8% voter increase from 2015 to 2017, according to Cambridge Election Commission data. The unofficial results of the Nov. 7 elections were that all six incumbents who ran and three new officials were elected to the Cambridge City Council. Incumbents E. Denise Simmons, Marc McGovern, Jan Devereux, Timothy Toomey, Jr., Dennis Carlone, and Craig Kelley were re-elected. Candidates Sumbul Siddiqui, Alanna Marie Mallon, and Fossil Free MIT-endorsed Quinton Zondervan were newly elected. The candidates that the MIT Democrats endorsed — Nadya Okamoto, Samuel Gebru, and Vatsady Sivongxay — all lost. The results may change after absentee and provisional ballots are counted Nov. 17.